Under national and state regulations for education and care services, each centre is required to have policies and procedures in place covering a number of areas. First Years will assist you by writing these policies and procedures to meet the individual needs of your service to help ensure the highest possible rating.

We will work with the centre director and staff to implement a quality educational program that supports each individual child and reflects the EYLF and the NQF (including a quality improvement plan for the future).

  • A quality education program is one that is developed around the children’s interests. Key learning areas are incorporated using these interests.
  • An education program should show relevance between what has been planned and how the child’s interest and ideas are reflected.

We understand and respect that each service is unique, with different factors affecting each service. Our goal is to embrace this uniqueness and provide strategies to accommodate the range of unique challenges and opportunities you face.

The National Quality Framework (NQF)

Authorised officers from state and territory regulatory authorities assess and rate services using the seven quality areas, 18 standards and 58 elements that make up the National Quality Standard. Services are given a rating for each of the seven quality areas and an overall rating.

As  at  31  March  2015,  there  were  14,827  children’s  education  and  care  services  across  Australia  approved under the NQF. Since the accreditation process began in June 2012, approximately 56% of the total number of services had been assessed and received a quality rating against the NQS.

Assessed Areas

1 Educational program and practice
Children’s health and safety
Physical environment
Staffing arrangements
Relationships with children
Partnerships with families and communities
Leadership and service management
Together we will shape and develop an innovative, engaged, accredited and welcoming learning system based on best practice and adhering to the highest of standards.

All figures from

Centre Ratings

Significant Improvement Required

Service does not meet one of the seven quality areas or a section of the legislation and there is an unacceptable risk to the safety, health and wellbeing of children. Immediate action will be taken to address issues.

Working Towards National Quality Standard

Service may be meeting the National Quality Standard in a range of areas, but there are one or more areas identified for improvement.

Meeting National Quality Standard

Service meets the National Quality Standard. Service provides quality education and care in all seven quality areas.

Exceeding National Quality Standard

Service goes beyond the requirements of the National Quality Standard in at least four of the seven quality areas.


Service promotes exceptional education and care, demonstrates sector leadership, and is committed to continually improving. This rating can only be awarded by ACECQA. Services rated Exceeding National Quality Standard overall may choose to apply for this rating.

Start a First Years’ consultation today!

We are keen to talk and help you decipher what your day care really needs. Whether you are new to the day care community or have been established for a while, we are here to help establish your needs and improve your business. To find out more, choose your button below.


Send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

©2019 First Years . Terms + Conditions . Branding x Website = {} Since '05


Forgot your details?